Miss Earth

Miss Earth 2001 is Denmark’s Catharina Svensson

Miss Earth 2001 Catharina Svensson of DenmarkCatharina Svensson of Denmark has won the Miss Earth 2001 pageant held on Sunday, October 28 at the University of the Philippines Theater in Quezon City, Philippines.

The 19-year-old law student and part-time model bested 41 other beauties from around the world to win the inaugural edition of the international pageant that advocates the protection and preservation of the environment.

The runners-up, Simone Régis of Brazil, Margarita Kravtsov of Kazakhstan, and Daniela Stucan of Argentina were crowned Miss Earth Air, Water, and Fire, respectively.

Completing the Top 10 semi-finalists were the contestants from Bolivia (Catherine Villarroel), Estonia (Evelyn Mikomägi), India (Shamita Singha), Latvia (Jelena Keirane), Philippines (Carlene Aguilar), and the United States (Abigail Royce).

Catharina gave the answer to the final question on finding a balance between technology and earth preservation, “Of course, technology makes life easier, but it also has its share of problems. But we can do something to make it better.”

The Danish beauty is also a professional equestrienne who has already won in a major jumping competition. She spends her free time playing tennis, skiing and rollerblading.


Miss Earth 2001: Denmark – Catharina Svensson

Miss Earth – Air 2001: Brazil – Simone Régis

Miss Earth – Water 2001: Kazakhstan – Margarita Kravtsova

Miss Earth – Fire 2001: Argentina – Daniela Stucan

Top 10

Bolivia – Catherine Villarroel

Estonia – Evelyn Mikomägi

India – Shamita Singha

Latvia – Jelena Keirane

Philippines – Carlene Aguilar

United States – Abigail Royce

Special Awards

Miss Friendship: Japan – Misuzu Hirayama

Miss Photogenic: Argentina – Daniela Stucan

Miss Talent: Latvia – Jelena Keirane

Best in Swimsuit: Kazakhstan – Margarita Kravtsova

Best in Evening Gown: Philippines – Carlene Aguilar

Best in National Costume: India – Shamita Singha

Miss Earth 2001 Catharina Svensson of Denmark

Photo credits to their respective owners.